Donation of the Pillar of ShameTo the Portugese version of this documentTo the Danish version of this document
To the Spanish version of this document

 At this point Brazil has been chosen as the place to put up the third Pillar of Shame. The Pillar of Shame is a sculpture which is put up all over the world in defence of the humanistic basis of our civilization.

This sculpture has been given to the Brazilian state to mark the massacre of Eldorado de Carajás on  17th April 1996 where a slaughtering of land-less farmers took place leaving 19 dead people behind. The setting up of the Pillar of Shame contributes to preserve the memory of this encroachment.

The Pillar of Shame is bestowed to the Brazilian state represented by the elected Parliament in order to emphasise the part of the state as a guarantee of the legal security of the inha­bi­tants and the invio­­lability of the human rights in Brazil.

The Pillar of Shame is to be put up in the capital of Brazil on 17th of April 2000, the fourth anniver­­­sary of the Eldorado massacre.

    - Jens Galschiot

To the index page of the Brazilian Pillar of Shame | To photos of the Brazilian Pillar of Shame |
 To a more detailed description of the Pillar of Shame | To an index of the Pillar of Shame in generel

Level Up

2000: The Pillar of Shame in Brazil
Additional Information:
Categories: 2000: The Pillar of Shame in Brazil | Happenings and Art Installations | 1996-?: The Pillar of Shame
Themes: Criticism of governments | Land conflicts | Massacres
Sculptures: Pillar of Shame
Type: Documents
Dates: 17th April 1996 | 2000 | 17th April 2000 | 1st May 2000
Locations: Praça da Leitura, Belém, Brazil | Town Hall, Belém, Brazil | Parliament, Brasilia, Brazil | Eldorado de Carajàs, Brazil | Harbour, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Co-operators and Helpers: Antonio Carlos Magalhães, President of the National Congress, 2000 | Brazilian Bishops | Caio Riela, MP for PTB, 2000 | Edilson A. Assunção | Fernanda Giannasi | Fernando Marroni, MP for PT, 2000 | Helene Gjerding | Kasper Markus | Luis M. Luis | Marcos Rolim, Senator for PT, 2000 | Marina Jakobsen | Movimento Tortura Nunca Mais de Pernambuco | Niller Madsen | Per Østerby | Robert Etches | Rosalina Gauffin | Thomas Frost | Tinku (Mikkel og Doris)
Partners: Edmilson Brito Rodrigues, Mayor of Belém, 2000 | Eunice Pinheiro Alves | Heloísa Helena, Leader of opposition, Senator for PT, 2000 | MST - Movimento Sem Terra | PT - Partido dos Trabalhadores | Senate of Brazil | Town Hall of Belém
Related Persons and Entities: Brazilian Minister of Justice, 2000 | Customs officials in Rio | Odense Skattevæsen
Sponsors: BUPL | DeTrey Dentsply AG, Schweiz | Fredsfonden | Funch Fonden | Gelsted/Kirk/Scherfig fonden | Kultursekretariatet i Odense Kommune | Lysgaard Fonden | Socialpædagogernes Landsforbund / National Federation of Social Educators | Socialpædagogernes Landsforbund i Vejle | Vedstaarup Lerfabrik A/S